hintonfran6

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Software For a Fresh Install

leave a comment »

Anytime you have a problem with your computer and it cant be fixed, it will most likely have to be formatted and Windows re-installed. This can be a pain as you have to transfer and copy all data and software over to your newly wiped hard drive. Here is the list of software that my computer cannot live without.Firefox and Chrome. I use both of these browsers for different reasons, Firefox is my main browser and the one I use most. They both come with an array of add-ons or extension. They both load and run at great speeds and simply seem a lot better than Internet Explorer or any other browser, I wont even get into the security issues.Antivirus and Firewall. These are essential for any computer. I vary which applications I use, for now I’m using Microsoft Security Essentials and the Windows firewall. There are a number of other free and effective programs such as AVG, Avira, Avast, Online Armor and Comodo.Next is Eraser. This is a secure file deletion program which can remove any data securely so it cannot be recovered. The user can select to overwrite any sensitive data multiple times (up to 35) meaning when data is deleted, it is gone forever.A VPN (virtual private network). I like my privacy when online, I use a VPN for various tasks, there are paid and free versions available. The speeds will vary greatly on how much you pay – the more money the quicker.Next on the list is True Crypt, this allows users to encrypt their data and shield any unauthorized users from reading/tampering with it. There are options to enhance the security or keep the best speed. The software also offers full hard drive encryption, USB encryption or partition/file encryption. Personally I divide my hard drive up and have around 200GB as a separate partition that is encrypted, any sensitive data can then go in there.Finally, VLC media player is a must for any computer and movie lover. I watch a lot of videos on my computer, and VLC can play just about any file you throw at it. It is the only media player you will ever need.There you have it, the software that I use on a daily basis, of course there are many other programs which did not make the list. All of the programs mentioned are my personal favorites. I hope you get as much joy out of them as I do.

Written by hintonfran6

August 3, 2013 at 7:42 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

